Percussion Sounds

Percussion Sounds

Cyprus Youth Symphony Orchestra


Contemporary Cypriot composer Evagoras Karageorgis’s Polyosti dances (“poly=many, osti=ostinato) are based on ostinati (repeating motifs) that are distributed to different instruments, creating thus harmonic sequences and melodic profusion. The work belongs to the composer’s second phase of experimentation with the technique of repetition, since his production of many such works during the late 1980s. We go back to the Baroque era for J. S. Bach, whose timeless pieces freely lend themselves to being transcribed, as is the case with his Violin concerto in A minor, BWV 1041 which you will enjoy in a transcription for marimba. After all, even the composer himself used to often take pieces he’d written for one instrument and transcribe or adapt them for another! An entirely original – and authentic – work for marimba however is French composer Eric Sammut’s Sugaria Concerto, while Mozart’s “Linz” Symphony, written in just four days in 1783, is the composer’s first symphonic work in which the percussion has a role to play in all four movements.  

E. Karageorgis: Polyosti, five dances for strings

J. S. Bach: Violin concerto in A minor, BWV 1041 (transcr. for marimba)

E. Sammut: Sugaria concerto for marimba

W. A. Mozart: Symphony no. 36 in C major, K. 425, (“Linz”)

Soloist: Katarzyna Myćka (marimba)

Conductor: Michalis Economou 

Supporters: Rialto Theatre, Limassol Municipality

Tickets: €12, €7 (young people 18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (young people 12-18 yrs), €3 (children under 12)

Click here for the website of Cyprus Symphony Orchestra