Cyprus Symphony Orchestra - Finlandia

Cyprus Symphony Orchestra - Finlandia

The Cyprus Symphony Orchestra collaborates with the Embassy of Finland in Cyprus in order to present a programme with within the Finnish Presidency of the Council of the EU. The programme, under the baton of Artistic Director Jens Georg Bachmann and with soloist the world famous violinist Kolja Blacher includes works by the most famous Finnish composer, Jean Sibelius.

Join the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra on a captivating journey to the alluring musical sounds of Finland. The programme features a musical selection that is uniquely Finnish and at the same time unreservedly individual. Jean Sibelius has been the central figure in creating a Finnish voice in music in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. His music bears the aura of his native land in its references to the Kalevala, the Finnish-language folk epic, and its allusion to folk music. Yet at the same time, it is distinguished by startlingly original adaptations of common elements: a fresh outlook on orchestral colour, and unorthodox treatments of triadic harmony and musical process.

J. Sibelius: Andante festivο [Cyprus premiere]
Violin concerto in D minor, op. 47
Symphony no. 3 in C major, op. 52 [Cyprus premiere]

In collaboration with the Embassy of Finland

Supporters: Rialto Theatre, Limassol Municipality, Paphos Municipality

Duration: 65’

Ticket prices: €12, €7 (18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (under 18)


Click here for the website of Cyprus Symphony Orchestra