Georgian Culture

Georgian Culture

Cyprus Symphony Orchestra

Joining in the celebrations of the Annual Georgian Culture Festival in Cyprus, the CySO presents the highly evocative “Largo and Allegro for Strings, Piano and Timpani” by Georgian composer Giya Alexandrovich Kancheli (b. 1935), with guest soloist Elisso Bolkvadze continuing with Saint-Saens’ Second piano concerto, the capricious stylistic changes of which prompted Polish pianist and composer Zygmunt Stojowski to remark that it "begins with Bach and ends with Offenbach." The concert ends with Mozart and his last symphony to boot, his no.41, considered one of the greatest symphonies ever written.

G. Kancheli: Largo and Allegro for strings, piano and timpani
C. Saint-Saëns: Piano concerto no. 2 in G minor, op. 22
W. A. Mozart: Symphony no. 41 in C major, K. 551 (“Jupiter”)

Soloist: Elisso Bolkvadze (piano)
Conductor: Jens Georg Bachmann

Duration: 90’

Ticket prices: €12, €7 (18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (under 18 yrs)

Click here for the website of Cyprus Symphony Orchestra